Another “Time”

Another “Time”

Psalm 19: The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament shows His handiwork.
Day unto day utters speech, and night unto night reveals knowledge.
There is no speech nor language where their voice is not heard.
Their line has gone out through all the earth, and their words to the end of the world.

 

This is a photo I took with a point and shoot camera, I believe, while on an overnight in the Negev of Israel back in 2004. This was quite an adventure as we looked at ancient trade routes with lots of wilderness, lots of wilderness. I feel so very privileged to have been able to travel all over Israel and see other countries as well in my 20 year stay as staff photographer for the International Christian Embassy Jerusalem. www.icej.org  But on this trip I was able to appreciate far more the awesomeness of this Creator God.

A device for recording the passage of “time” only began, according to historians, in Egypt around 1500 BC as mentioned in Wikipedia. But further than this, I see three types of time; one is sidereal which is hours minutes and seconds. Then there is psychological, Einstein put it this way, “If you are sitting with a pretty girl for two hours, it feels like two minutes, but if you are sitting on a hot stove, two minutes feels like two hours.” Then there is the sleep time, if I am sitting in my comfortable chair thinking and pondering, as I often do, and I fall asleep, when I wake, I have no idea whether I have been asleep ten seconds or two hours, have we not all found this to be true. The arrow of time continues to move forward and we can only,

  • observe the present,
  • b. remember the past
  • c. live in expectation of the future.

© 2012 Sherwood A. Burton all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

