Thoughts while sitting in the garden

Matthew 7:13 “Enter by the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and there are many who go in by it. 14 Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it.

 

I was sitting in the garden behind Christ Church in the old city of Jerusalem. As I sat, I thought of a scripture that the Lord had showed me several years ago, Exodus 3:1Now Moses was tending the flock of Jethro his father-in-law, the priest of Midian. And he led the flock to the back of the desert, and came to Horeb, the mountain of God. 2 And the Angel of the Lord appeared to him in a flame of fire from the midst of a bush. So he looked, and behold, the bush was burning with fire, but the bush was not consumed. 3 Then Moses said, “I will now turn aside and see this great sight, why the bush does not burn.” Now, what I noticed then was that Moses turned aside from what he was doing to see what God was doing. As I sat there, I realized that at Christ Church, when you go around the side there is a broad gate that leads to the car park but if you turn aside a bit to the left just before you go to the car park, there is a narrow gate and a narrow way that goes to the garden. So this is rather remarkable as I see it, sitting in the garden.

As I considered this scripture again, I thought, that is exactly what we did when we decided to follow the Lord, we turned aside from what we were doing to see what He was doing. Now that we have turned aside, we have become the burning bush for others to see what the Lord is doing in us. So, we actually have to be on fire for God so that others want to find out what is up with us. I thought, that is actually fairly true with people who are on fire for God, what is it with them, can we learn something from them?

©2012 Sherwood A. Burton all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

