Faithfulness

Psalm 92: 1It is good to give thanks to the Lord, and to sing praises to Your name, O Most High;
To declare Your loving kindness in the morning, and Your faithfulness every night,

I have to recount an incident from years ago; as I came out of church one Sunday morning while I was living in Boothbay Harbor, Maine, USA, there were two older ladies ahead of me and as we stepped out the door into the openness of the day, one lady said to the other, “What a shame, the sun is not shining.”  We had just heard a sermon preached on the faithfulness of God and how He does not change and how He always desires to walk with us and take care of us.  My instant response to the ladies was that the sun is shining; it is just that we cannot see it because the clouds are in the way. Even at night, the sun is still shining but it is on the other side of the earth so we cannot see it, it is always shining and bright and hot.

 I still find this to be so true of this wonderful God that I have come to love, He is always faithful, and it is I who cannot see it because of clouds, problems, and difficulties that seem to get in the way. When trouble comes I sometimes fail to see this marvelous being who wants to help me in my distress as the problems get in the way of the answer He has in store for me. I think we all have these occasions in life from time to time. It is a little like, behind every cloud, there is a silver lining but in front of every silver lining, there is a cloud.

 I need to keep my eyes fixed on that God who is always faithful.

 

© 2012 Sherwood A. Burton – all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

