Man

Genesis 1:26 “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness; let them have dominion…

 When God says, “Let Us” what does He mean or, what is He saying? I believe, as many others do that He is speaking of His triune being, Father, Son and Holy Spirit and creating man in that image, body, soul and spirit.  Every one of us, though individual is made up of this triune quality. We have an earthly body which I like to call my earth suit. The person that I am lives in this earth suit that allows me to function on this planet earth. When I die, when this body wears out, “I” will carry on in another dimension, a dimension of the spirit. The soul is another matter, I am at odds about this but I think it is that part of me that thinks, decides and is a creative and decision making ability or entity within who I am.

God in His word talks of “Us” many times and this fascinates me since Moses says in Deuteronomy 6:4 “Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one! And as a footnote to this, The Lord is our God, the Lord alone (that is, the only one) but the word used in the Hebrew for God is “Elohim” which is a plural word.

© 2013 Sherwood A. Burton – all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

