Freedom

Sunset behind the clouds in Israel

John 8:31 ….you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”

I remember when I was a young man and a few years into my belief that Yeshua was the Son of God, and as I read this, I thought, how in the world does my belief in this truth, set me free. I was a bit of a rebel at the time and living in a small travel trailer. (Called a caravan, in England) It was not much longer than the Cadillac I drove. I was renting out my Teepee (Indian wigwam) at the time and owned a taxi business in Maine, USA. It probably took me another twenty years to understand the most precious freedom from this world of double standards and graft and greed and all kinds of “me first” ideas. The real freedom really comes in knowing who is in charge of my life and listening to that greater Father of my soul and spirit. I think it comes down to where we set our treasure and what that treasure really is. As Peter the apostle once said to a man who could not walk, “Silver and gold I do not have, but what I do have I give you: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, rise up and walk.” (Acts 3:6) He had a treasure in his heart that was of far more value than money. This is a freedom that allows us to go anywhere at any time at a word from our heavenly Father and He provides all we need to accomplish the task He sets in front of us. Now that is exciting and REAL freedom. 

© 2014 Sherwood A. Burton – all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

