Roots

Roots 96A

Genesis 1:1 In the beginning….. (The work of the underground.)

I graduated from high school in 1956 and joined the Navy. The Navy taught me a few bad habits and the path laid out for me had yet to be walked on. After my discharge from the Navy, I joined the Air Force to gain an education in radio and electronics. I was stationed in Washington State and had a very religious roommate. I was kind of walking on the wild side and really wanted no part of what he had to offer.

One Sunday morning, as he always did, he asked if I would like to go to church with him. It just happened that it was a Sunday when I was not suffering from a hangover, so I asked if there were any girls at that church. He said of course and so I decided that I might just get lucky and I went with him. That day in March 1963, changed my life, I met Jesus. It was the real Jesus that had died to pay the price for my transgressions (sin) and He wiped my slate clean. My smoking habit was gone and I didn’t even notice until two weeks later when I discovered that I had not smoked any of the cigarettes I had purchased two weeks earlier.

As I started reading the bible, I discovered all about how and why He died for me as well as the rest of humanity. He really wanted everyone to be able to enter His invisible Kingdom and become a member of His family. The next twenty years were far different than the first twenty-five. I avidly read the New Testament over and over, learning new things every time I would read. I discovered that there was a two part entrance requirement as stated in the book of John chapter 3. Part one, being born anew from above, gave me the ability, as it does for all who will take the plunge, to see that invisible Kingdom of God. Step two is John 3:5 which I will talk about tomorrow.

 © 2014 Sherwood A. Burton – all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

