Slaves

Caged

Isaiah 58:6 “Is this not the fast that I have chosen: To loose the bonds of wickedness, to undo the heavy burdens, to let the oppressed go free, and that you break every yoke?

 The bondage to this life as we see it is actually a very invisible bondage. This bondage that we are in is very deceptive. It does not appear that we are in bondage, yet, if we are in addiction to anything other than our Heavenly Father, we are in bondage and slaves.

 How about addictions that do not look like addictions? Compulsive cleanliness, chocolate, eating, drinking, smoking, and a lot of other things I would rather not mention. Anything that is a habit is what we are slave to. My desire to put something up each day that will encourage people to look toward the Creator could be considered an addiction. My desire to cause people to see this marvelous Creator who cares for us far more than any of us realize, is, I admit, compulsive. I see Him everywhere and in everything. I guess that makes me an addict.

 © 2014 Sherwood A. Burton – all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

