Risen

He is not here

Mark 16:5-6 and entering the tomb, they saw a young man clothed in a long white robe sitting on the right side; and they were alarmed.  But he said to them, “Do not be alarmed. You seek Jesus of Nazareth, who was crucified. He is risen! He is not here. See the place where they laid Him.

I took this photo in Jerusalem a few days ago and when I got home to look at the images I had taken, this one just stood out like it was taken from inside the tomb. It was not taken at the Garden Tomb but inside the old city in the Christian Quarter. There are so many things that this photograph says to me as I look at it with relation to the Bible. First, we have going from darkness to light, then we have from Song of Solomon as the Creator is saying come away with me, and of course we have going from death to life in His presence.

I also realize that years ago at the actual resurrection, it was on a Sunday morning and that it is always celebrated on a Sunday morning as Easter rather than Resurrection Sunday. But, I just am following the Passover week here in Jerusalem where it all happened in the first place so forgive the intrusion into your way of celebrating, I am aware that we are all committed to the Creator God of the world and His Son it is just that I am in the midst of a people who refuse to acknowledge the Son, let alone His resurrection, thanks.

© 2014 Sherwood A. Burton – all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

