HOME

25-10-2014

Zechariah 7:9

“Thus says the Lord of hosts: ‘Execute true justice, Show mercy and compassion everyone to his brother.

When I first came to Israel some twenty-five years ago, I was looking for what to do and how I was to survive. I knew that the Lord had called me to come to Israel but had only said He would tell me what to do once I was here. It was about two months here and running out of money and options that He told me that my entire responsibility was to “Seek first His Kingdom and His righteousness and He would take care of all the rest.

He has certainly done that, I came with two small suitcases and now have a wife, two lovely stepdaughters, a car and a house full of furniture; In fact I had to give a lot of it away as we had too much.

As I look at this beggar in his wheelchair with all his belongings with him, I remember a time early on when the Lord spoke to me as I was following another beggar with all the sacks and things over his shoulders and on his back, “As long as you walk with Me, you can walk empty handed without the baggage and I will provide all you need to survive well and even bless you beyond your expectations”, and He has certainly done that.

© 2014 Sherwood A. Burton – all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

