Dreams 2

Magic of 6 degrees

Amos 3:7 Surely the Lord God does nothing, unless He reveals His secret to His servants the prophets.

 There are two specific dreams I want to talk about. The first is directional.

My wife, two grown daughters and I had been struggling with several issues as to direction in our lives here in Israel. One of those struggles was the intention of moving from where we were in the city to a place a bit further out but less expensive and would require a bus ride to get into the city or a 45 to 50 minute walk. And on Shabbat, we would need a taxi in order to attend the congregation we were committed to. We struggled and prayed fervently. One night, I had a dream, in it, I was a crew member on a small sailboat. Actually, I was the only crew member outside of the captain. I was told, by the captain that I was to keep the sail mast at six degrees tilt. If the wind was strong, slacken the ropes and if the wind was light, draw in the rope. The captain would steer the boat to its desired haven.

When I awoke, I realized that the dream was related to our move. Our Lord God was the Captain and had a specific place He was steering us to. My job was to hold my faith and the faith of my family on course and not let go of the faith that He was in control and no matter what it looked like in the natural, we were on course. In other words, do not let go of the hope, (the rope) that was our reliance on a loving Creator God.

I looked on line to see what the meaning of six degrees might be and ran across this booklet which encouraged me to keep my eyes on my Creator and follow Him, no matter what the circumstances might look like. We now have a wonderful apartment which has all we were looking for and les expensive than any of us ever expected considering our requested list of amenities and location.

© 2014 Sherwood A. Burton – all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

