Take Time

Take Time

Isaiah 2:5 O house of Jacob, come and let us walk in the light of the Lord.

As I was walking toward the post office here in Jerusalem, the wind was quite strong and a light mist in the air. It was a fairly short walk from where we live but as usual, there seemed to be a need to hurry. Most who read what I say, know that I am absolutely smitten with the glory of this Creator Gods great variety in design of flowers. The Lord spoke to my heart as I hurried along, “Take time to smell the flowers.” Just then, there was this branch coming off one of the walls as I passed by that had this beautiful flower on it, I have seen it before but today I took special notice. It did not have petals at all but actually looked a bit like a bottle brush but with the soft colors of red, pink and white. I had my camera but could not take the photo because the wind was way too strong and I had to hold the branch somewhat steady just to look at it.

We all have a tendency to hurry through life and since the advent of ipads and iphones and the like, do not even see the life that surrounds us as we walk. The Lord says, even in these troubled times, take time to observe the life that is going on IN your presence. There are so many gifts that the Lord places in our vicinity in flowers and animals and people. All are precious in His eyes and should be in ours if in fact we are walking in the light of His word and world.

I will get a photo one day of this unique flower to post for you. Maybe today, maybe tomorrow but I will take time to smell the roses.

© 2014 Sherwood A. Burton – all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

