Focus

Focus

Genesis 28:15-16 Behold, I am with you and will keep you wherever you go, and will bring you back to this land; for I will not leave you until I have done what I have spoken to you.”  Then Jacob awoke from his sleep and said, “Surely the Lord is in this place, and I did not know it.” 

Daily we are surrounded by circumstances that either lift us up or wear us down. It is constantly in our lives here on this earth. We laugh, cry, get angry or are overjoyed, all at the situation that confronts us at the moment. It is a bit like, when it gets cloudy, we start worrying about rain and or if it will become cooler.

I realize I have shared this story before but it bears sharing yet again; after a service on a Sunday morning when I was in the states, years ago, we all exited the church to head for a Sunday dinner. There were two ladies ahead of me and the statement from them was that it was such a shame that the sun was not shining. I spoke up immediately as the Holy Spirit prompted me, saying, the sun is still shining, the clouds are just in the way of us seeing it. The very same applies to all of the events and circumstances that we face every day, keep your focus on the Lord and there is nothing that can change your countenance and that He is always there to guard and protect and keep us in a great frame of mind. Philippians 4:12-13 I know how to be abased and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.  I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Good advice, keep the focus.

© 2014 Sherwood A. Burton – all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

