Rulers

Rule x2

Psalm 2:1-6 Why do the nations rage, and the people plot a vain thing?  The kings of the earth set themselves, and the rulers take counsel together, against the Lord and against His Anointed, saying,
 “Let us break their bonds in pieces and cast away their cords from us.”  He who sits in the heavens shall laugh; The Lord shall hold them in derision.  Then He shall speak to them in His wrath, and distress them in His deep displeasure:  “Yet I have set My King on My holy hill of Zion.”

 The word that came to me this morning was “rulers”. As I thought about this, of course I thought of all the heads of state and governments and dictatorships. How each one perceives life and the way forward? Some seem to be after their own ends and those under them are of little consequence, fodder to be used in the battle for supremacy. I again look at all that is happening in the world and I see one that stands above all the rest in its desire for world rulership, isis. (I refuse to give this organization a capital letter as in my mind and heart; they are but gods with a little “g”.) The Biblical word has a great deal to say against such. I have experienced the fulfillment of so much of what this Holy Bible has to say that this is the rule I must go by.

Then I thought of the things I have learned while growing up such as the “golden rule” “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” Then there is the rule of thumb, “If it feels good, do it.” I am afraid I am one who tries to follow that golden road to freedom and peace. I confess I see very little peace and freedom on the other side of that coin. If they could only have a glimpse of the eternal consequence of such action, Oh Lord, open their eyes to see that hatred begets hatred and love and caring begets love and caring.

© 2014 Sherwood A. Burton – all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

