Freedom

Breaking out

John 8:31-32 Then Jesus said to those Jews who believed Him, “If you abide in My word, you are My disciples indeed. And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”


 
I remember once, years ago when I lived in the states, I had a travel trailer that I lived in which was about twenty feet long. I was escaping from the worlds system of paying for electricity, heating and etcetera. I had been a believer in Jesus, Yeshua as the waited for Messiah and delving into His word fairly heavily when one day; the above verse hit me with its statement. I walked back and forth in that little space and started kicking at the walls wondering how being bound by the commandments could be freedom. Well, it is a bit like Dr. Who’s call box or the stable in C. S. Lewis’s “The Last Battle”, the freedom of obeying the rules are far richer than being a so called “Freedom Fighter” and being an outsider in society. ( yes, I have followed D. Who, and C. S. Lewis, and Plato among so many others) The rules of society and the rules of the Kingdom of God are kind of the same but very different in the resulting freedom. 

So, I say,” Break out of the box and feel the freedom the Spirit will give you.”

© 2014 Sherwood A. Burton – all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

