What’s in a Name?

Whats in a name?

Isaiah 45:4-5a For Jacob My servant’s sake, and Israel My elect, I have even called you by your name; I have named you, though you have not known Me. I am the Lord, and there is no other;

This is a bit of a personal story: My father in the flesh was a great provider and worked very hard his whole life. He was also an inventor of sorts and I guess that is where I get my inventive ideas from. When I was born, he decided my name should be Sherwood so that I would not have a nickname so he thought. Then, as I was growing and able to walk, he used to call me his little Buddy. Well, long story short, that nickname stuck and I was Buddy from that point on. Later when I was in high school, I thought Buddy was a bit to childish so I changed it to Budd. The name Bud was a typical name so I added an extra “d” to make me a bit different. That stuck with me all my life till 2002, in my 64th year at which point I had cancer in my throat. I had been a heavy smoker for about forty years. I had come right to the very door of the beyond when the Lord stepped in and healed me supernaturally. One evening, some weeks later as some of us were praying, I distinctly heard the Lords voice and He said; “Now, I want you to use the name I gave you when you were born”. Thus, I have been Sherwood ever since. I have checked on the name and the best description I can come up with is ‘a clearing in the forest’. The point I make in this story is that it is the Lord who gave us our names as it states in the scripture above and it is that name that has been written in the Lambs Book of Life. Don’t let it get blotted out.

©2015 Sherwood A. Burton … all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

