More thoughts about Six Degrees

Six Degrees

Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.

This unseen Creator God who is all wise in every understanding has asked, not demanded that we place our lives in His loving hands and He will guide us in everything we do. I am not saying He will tell us what to have for dinner though He does know what our body needs better than we or any doctor or dietician. This invisible mentor has everything in His understanding of who we are and why we are like we are. He knows the struggles that every human being has gone through and why. He knows everything and how to bring us to a fantastic destination that we know not of.

There are friends of mine who are so afraid of letting go of the control of their own lives and yet they are fearful and unknowing of what tomorrow might bring, I can say, “Been there done that”. I cannot tell anyone strongly enough of the incredibly intense love that this Creator has for each and every soul on this planet. I cannot tell you strongly enough how this Creator has seen every life and outcome before He started this existence in motion. He saw you and me long before either one of was born, and loved us unconditionally. This is by far, one of the reasons He has given us free will to make our own choices.

I had a dream many years ago about myself driving my Cadillac down this slippery hillside in the winter and I heard a voice from the back seat, “Can I drive?” As I looked over my shoulder, I saw it was the Lord God Himself sitting back there where I had allowed Him to sit in “my” car. I came up with all the excuses as to how slippery the road was, the condition of the tires, how one has to be so careful about using the brakes in such a situation and as I finished telling God how dangerous the road was and why I knew it better than He did, I realized in an instant that He knew far more about the situation than I could ever know. I, reluctantly, as I did not want to lose control of my own life, allowed Him to drive, kind of with my eyes closed as I was afraid to let go. Of course this was a dream but it showed a reality that I have lived with ever since. (That is why He gives us these dreams of understanding.)

So, the essence of this small thought process for today, though there is far more that is in my heart to say, you probably would not read any further if you have come this far with me. If we are going to continue to keep control, we will not have the exciting adventure that awaits us. Let go of our control and let the Creator be our Captain and Guide, He knows some wonderful ports of call.

©2015 Sherwood A. Burton … all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

